PDA

View Full Version : First attempt at custom repaint

AJ_Prime
24th July 2011, 09:31 PM
Hi,

This is my first attempt at a custom repaint, so thought I'd use one of the kids legends class bumblebees before turning a brush to my own collection. Having said that I think I'll still buy a second of each one I want to customise.

You will see I used dry brush technique to achieve worn metal effect, also had a go at sponging to create a rust effect on hand and leg.

It's a little rough but think I might buy a second deluxe roadbuster for second attempt as he has WAY too much grey for my liking...

Anyway let me know what you think...

Lint
24th July 2011, 09:50 PM
cool stuff AJ! looks spiffy!

loophole
24th July 2011, 10:02 PM
i like the rusting effect that you have done

AJ_Prime
24th July 2011, 10:07 PM
cheers guys, was thinking about having a go at voyager megs, he looks a bit plain, hence the attempted rust effect. Still a bit scared to destroy him in case I mess it up however, especially considering how new I am to this. I can justify spending $20-$25 on a roadbuster though for this purpose so will see how that one goes...

In fact I'm reluctuant to destroy any of my meagre collection with primitive painting attempts so might just stick to duplicates...

5FDP
25th July 2011, 08:53 AM
That looks great AJ. Keep it up!

Hursticon
25th July 2011, 05:28 PM
I agree with the others AJ, what you've done so far looks really good and I'd encourage you to keep practising on duplicates mate until you're confident enough to do it to something like DOTM Voyager Megs. :eek::cool: