PDA

View Full Version : DIY Cliffjumper upgrade kit... a bad idea...

lcz128
21st May 2008, 08:27 AM
SO! I didn't come back to the board early enough to get in on the cliffjumper upgrade kit. Seeing that most people got it for something like $25+ or so, and how now they're going for something like 150+ --> 300 odd dollars, I thought I'd make my own.

Well, I'm not that experienced with sculpting so I've run into a fair few problems already. Nope, I won't be able to do proper bumper things nor a proper spoiler (as they're very straight and industrial like and I don't know how to make that with sculpey) - BUT I thought I'd be able to make my own CJ head with interchangeable expressions, right?

WRONG

Or so it may seem anyway. <_<; For starters, I lack any good kind of camera to take proper work-in-progress pics- then! I discover that sculpting in general : That's kind of okay. Sculpting in such a small scale: Oh shi-....

So. Up till now, I've done something like 4 different versions of the one facial expression and a few versions of the head, but they've all come out TOO BIG. oh jeebus. That said, I've finally come to an alright size for the face:

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/lcz128_photos/Transformers/18052008001.jpg http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y17/lcz128_photos/Transformers/18052008003.jpg

... So. What do y'all think? Any tips? Ideas? :) Thanks guys :D:D:D

(Going to be coating the face with a coat of silver shortly and will post that too :))

kup
21st May 2008, 09:15 AM
That looks good as its nice and straight. However the base of it may be a little too square, it should angle downwards.

STL
21st May 2008, 10:27 AM
If you want reference from my CJ set, lemme know. It's looking good though, man.

Pulse
21st May 2008, 10:38 AM
As they say... Even though you may screw up the first time - try, try & try again :)

Only when you get frustrated enough that you wanna completely destroy it, it's time to put it down & go do something else for a while. :D