PDA

View Full Version : Can I tax deduct my stock?

jaydisc
29th May 2008, 03:05 PM
Can I tax deduct my collection stock?

I am a sole trader and run a legitimate software development business.

I have also started investing in collectibles as a business venture / investment. To prove this, I can provide receipts for all the stock that I have acquired to date. I also have some very slight income from the sale of a few collection pieces which unfortunately, since I did not wait for maturity, have been sold at cost or a loss. This has been for the sake of networking and establishing relationships in the industry. So, overall, this new business venture has resulted in a loss of about $5,000 this financial year.

Note that the inventory that I am building now will not mature and reap benefits for around 10 or 20 years, and I expect to operate at a loss until then.

Is this feasible?

Obviously, I'm not expecting accountant level advice, but are any of you doing this? Familiar with any of the rules surrounding this?

Paulbot
29th May 2008, 03:21 PM
Ah so you're not a scalper... you're a business :P

jaydisc
29th May 2008, 03:28 PM
Well, this is the story I hope to present. The only "sales" i have to demonstrate that I'm a biz are like 3 or 4 ebay transactions. I plan on arguing that selling now isn't worth it, and thus, I expect to take a 5,000 or so hit per year to build this stockpile. Now, the inverse effect of this scheme is that when and if I do ever sell the collection, I'll have to treat it as income.

I have no intention of truly being a business, scalper or anything but a collector. The text in italics is what I hope to present.

TheDirtyDigger
29th May 2008, 03:35 PM
Haha...you make everything sound feasible Jd.:D

I'm gunna get you to act as a character witness at my next trial!:)

Thanatos
29th May 2008, 04:00 PM