PDA

View Full Version : The OTCA Housing thread

Ode to a Grasshopper
30th June 2009, 01:03 PM
Sure, a TF fansite isn't the first place you'd think to turn to for housing suggestions, but I figure what the hey? It's a link, which is better than you get with most new flatmates. Worst case scenario is it comes to nothing, in which case I'm no worse off than not trying at all. Apologies if we already have one of these btw, or if we try and avoid this kind of thing here - if so then feel free to delete the thread.

I've just moved from Perth, am presently holidaying in Tasmania and planning to move to Melbourne in about 3 weeks. While I realise it's unlikely anyone has any spare/affordable (I'm an adult ESL teacher but pretty poor atm :( and from what I hear the job market there is pretty iffy) rooms available or that they'd want a housemate from a web forum based on nothing but a shared interest in TFs, if any Melbournians know of any good housing resources or people seeking easygoing hippie-type housemates, any info would be much appreciated.:)

Ideally I'm looking for student-type shared housing around Deakin uni (I have a philosophy degree and Deakin's Phil program is exactly in line with my interests, so would probably be trying for casual/official tutoring work, or whatever else I could get) with reasonable accessibility to public transport.

Anyone else in a similar bind feel free to use the thread too of course.:)

JuzMel
30th June 2009, 05:20 PM
It might help if you mention which Deakin Uni campus is it? The Burwood one or Geelong? Or Melbourne city one?

Ode to a Grasshopper
1st July 2009, 01:23 PM
That's right, they have multiple campuses...:o

Cheers.:)