PDA

View Full Version : Buying a home

kurdt_the_goat
10th September 2009, 04:17 PM
Well this probably belongs in the "i need to vent" thread, but i think i need to do more than vent!

My wife and I have been renting for around 5 years - 10 mins from the city, 2 min walk to the foreshore. We decided to get a house after our rent went up quite a bit more than normal.

First we started looking at established, only to realise that because of the First Home Owner Grant, a million other people were also looking at established. We'd rock up to home opens with heaps of rabid hunters. Ultimately we'd be disappointed in A, B, C, D and so on with the house.. just so many variables to consider. The most disturbing of course being price, not that we can't afford a decent house, but that the price varies so much according to suburb. Tiny little unit in one suburb, 600m2 virtual farm in a different suburb, both the same price.