PDA

View Full Version : Masterpiece optimus repair help

twisted_belly
14th October 2010, 08:39 AM
Hye everyone, since many of you guys here are expert in this transformers arena, I'm wondering whether you guys can give me some opinion on this. I've always been wanting to own masterpiece prime and recently I found one (20th anniversary) with a decent price. The thing is, a part/clip on one of prime's leg is broken, as in the picture below. I'm wondering whether that part is vital for the toy i.e. a moving part that is essential for transformation, and whether it can just be glued into its position. I don't want to buy it only for it to become a lemon later on. The seller described the defect as being minor and not affecting the poses and transformation. Any insight is welcome :)!
Thanks in advance guys.

http://i893.photobucket.com/albums/ac137/epulxdagger/primeleg.jpg

LordCyrusOmega
14th October 2010, 08:44 AM
I don't know if gluing it would help. I'm not an expert at transformer repairs but That clip is used in the transformation. You push it in to extend or retract the leg so i don't know if gluing it would be a good idea.

I'd wait for some real advise though

Hursticon
14th October 2010, 08:55 AM
Indeed, I do believe it is used in the locking process of when the lower half of the leg slides up over the upper half.

I agree with Lord Cyrus though, I'd wait for some more experienced advice from one of the other members.

kup
14th October 2010, 09:51 AM
It is indeed used to to lock the legs in place and and retract them (when pushed).

I have pulled this toy apart before to repair a problem in which they made the gas tank clip too big and I couldn't push it enough to retract the leg.

I will be working until very late this evening and tomorrow I have a business dinner so if you can wait until the weekend, I can create a photo repair guide for you.

twisted_belly
14th October 2010, 12:32 PM
Thanks for the replies so far guys, there are much appreciated.