PDA

View Full Version : Software query for CG Transformers

UltraMarginal
18th January 2011, 03:25 PM
Hi,

So, i'm an engineer, I've done a fair bit of CAD modelling and I've always wanted to try my hand at making transformers type model's. I've had a look online and so far not found anything particular.

I'm wondering does anyone know what software hasbro/takara use to develop their designs? I realise it wouldn't be free software but there may be a cut down version that is relatively cheap or a limited use free version like there is for some other CAD packages. I might even be able to compare it to software I have and be happy that there are no significant differences.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

cheers

blackie
18th January 2011, 05:29 PM
what do you currently use?

UltraMarginal
19th January 2011, 09:07 AM
At work I use CATIA V5, though licences for that prohibit home use. especially on an engineers wage.
At home I am learning to use a piece of software called Co-Create, it's a totally different philosohy to CATIA and I'm having some issues initially with using it. There isn't much in the way of tutorials, it is free though.

Sam
19th January 2011, 05:41 PM
Not sure if Blender is something that suits you?

http://www.blender.org/

(free 3d modelling software)

UltraMarginal
19th January 2011, 08:13 PM
Not sure if Blender is something that suits you?

http://www.blender.org/

(free 3d modelling software)

Hey Sam,
Thanks for the suggestion, looks really interesting, though I think it's more for animation. I'm thinking more along the lines of Modeling for toy design.
And just in case you're wondering I'm not planning on starting an Australian I-Gear and developing a bunch of seeker knockoff's.:)

I'm certainly going to have a play with blender though. just for the fun of it.:D

gamblor916
19th January 2011, 08:51 PM
Rhino3D has a trial version available. I use it a bit and quite like it. There's a functional OSX development version too.