PDA

View Full Version : your thoughts on AFA ratings?

janda the red
3rd February 2011, 01:29 PM
hey peoples...

i'm kinda new to the buying vintage tf's scene and have been doing alot of looking and drooling at some of the figures offered for sale on ebay.

i keep coming across AFA rated gen 1 tf's.... they look so nice in thier little display cases, but they cost the earth compared to similar toys of a similar condition.

what does everyone here think about AFA?

is it a good thing....a bad thing?

has anyone here sent figures to the states to get graded? was it worth it ?

does anyone here actually buy AFA stuff?

pro's.....con's?

for a newbie like me, it seems like a good way to not get ripped off and buy a reissue or a copy by accident. i also like the idea of my precious dolly being protected from uv and additional damage/wear.

just curious to hear what a few fellow aussies think about this...

thanks in advance

janda :)

Sharky
3rd February 2011, 02:27 PM
i like the cases, not so much the grading... the prices seem outrageous compared to what they should be and i do believe a few knock offs have snuck through the "super keen" eyes of the "graders"

the fact they are grading loose toys now is a bit of a joke...(sometimes i think they will grade anything)

do we know what the long term effects are to the toy inside after a few years..

Sky Shadow
3rd February 2011, 03:25 PM
for a newbie like me, it seems like a good way to not get ripped off and buy a reissue or a copy by accident.

Some threads worth reading on this topic:

http://www.otca.com.au/boards/showthread.php?p=113927#post113927
http://www.otca.com.au/boards/showthread.php?t=8375

Personally I think AFA grading is bizarre. Putting a toy in an acrylic box so it's never played with is like owning a car you never intend to drive. It takes something from fulfilling its intended function to being a commodity.

Gutsman Heavy
3rd February 2011, 03:41 PM