Thread: Transformers Comics worth money in the future?

Default Transformers Comics worth money in the future?

as the title suggests, will transformers comics be worth significant money in the future? I know that the original marvel ones, particularly 1-4 can go for $20 plus on ebay, what about say dreamwave and idw in another 20 or so years?..

and also the dreamwave dynamic forces variant covers, the only 2000 or 3000 or so worldwide ones, are they worth any money? i have a tf vs gi joe vol2 #1 that is in mint condition, has never been opened from when it was sealed with the certificate.. i got it for like $1 so i dunno..

im no expert when it comes to what makes particular comics valuable so, yeah just wondering basically..

Apart from issues #1-4 of the original Marvel series and some UK issues, the comics are themselves not worth very much. The Marvel run is where a lot of value is and that's b/c of its age and rarity. The stories though aren't really worth it in my opinion. Outside of a short period between #38-60 the rest were pretty so-so. The art lacks modern sensibilities too.

You should keep in mind that the modern trend of TPBs means that most comics are not worth very much any more unless its to a hardcore single issue collector. Most comics that one buys off the shelves these days aren't even worth the paper they're printed on when you sell them on.

The only modern comics that buck the trend are exclusive/limited covers and comics that people under-estimated the demand of and that that demand is persistent. The only modern "comic" if you can call it that are the More than Meets the Eye profile books. They are hard to get, have great individual covers and even non-comic collecting TF fans go after them.
    Collection Count (w/ a 12.42% upsize): 3053
    New Family Members: DA-15 Jetwing Prime, DOTM Leader Ironhide, Perfect Effect Reflector, DOTM Shockwave & Skyhammer, eHobby United 3-packs
    Current Desires: Japanese BW Optimal Optimus