Ozformers Transformers Club of Australia


Go Back   Ozformers Transformers Club of Australia (otca.com.au) > Info and Activities > Board Info, Member Intros & Suggestion Box

Sightings/Sales

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 19th October 2011, 12:08 AM
heroic_decepticon's Avatar
heroic_decepticon heroic_decepticon is offline
Rank 6 - Deluxe Member
 
Join Date: 16th Jan 2008
Location: Honkers
Posts: 2,742
Default

oh gosh, now I am worried about all the TFs I have in Singapore with batteries and I have no way of removing...
__________________
Heroic Decepticon's blog

Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 19th October 2011, 12:25 PM
griffin's Avatar
griffin griffin is offline
Rank 10 - Admin
 
Join Date: 24th May 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 31,672
Default

I guess the one reassuring thing is - the smaller batteries don't appear to have enough in them to do enough irreversible damage (only seems to corrode the contacts, which people are able to resurrect with some scouring or sanding), while the bigger ones do indeed leak out a lot more, the acid doesn't appear to do much initial damage to the plastic (could weaken it for the long term though) and unless the electronics are gravitationally below the batteries (or a hole or gap in the battery compartment) usually only the contacts will be damaged, which may well be resurrected as well with a bit of sanding.

See the photos in the first post - the examples I gave show that the corrosion was limited to the contacts (Supreme Cheetor, Armada Jetfire gun), and where it was a complete acid leakage, it ran down out of the battery compartment away from the actual electronics (Armada Superpants Prime).

The worrying thing though is that just about all the new moulds since 2006, have the bigger batteries now, not the small button cells... which is more prone to big leakage. Since they are (cheap) Hasbro-brand batteries, they might be worse, or maybe a type they've specifically created so that it doesn't leak. It might be too early to tell though, as it was more than 5 years before notable leaking occurred in my toys.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 19th October 2011, 01:37 PM
Arcee's Avatar
Arcee Arcee is offline
Rank 1 - New/Inactive
 
Join Date: 20th Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 462
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by griffin View Post
The worrying thing though is that just about all the new moulds since 2006, have the bigger batteries now, not the small button cells... which is more prone to big leakage. Since they are (cheap) Hasbro-brand batteries, they might be worse, or maybe a type they've specifically created so that it doesn't leak. It might be too early to tell though, as it was more than 5 years before notable leaking occurred in my toys.
They can't even improve on their toys which they've been doing for 25 years, how can they improve the batteries which is not their expertise?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 19th October 2011, 06:35 PM
jazzcomp's Avatar
jazzcomp jazzcomp is offline
Rank 6 - Deluxe Member
 
Join Date: 15th Apr 2010
Location: Ryde
Posts: 5,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tetsuwan Convoy View Post
Here are the scans of the instructions. The batteries are in the rear of the box that holds the LED for the Matrix.


You need to mess about with the Matrix box and pull it out a bit as you get to this step when changing from robot to vehicle mode.

There is a way to take the box out, but it's not in the instructions, and my MP1 & 4 are packed away somewhere, sadly I just don't have the time to mess about with them ATM. If I do, pics will come as I have to check the batteries in MP4 I guess.
I can't remove the box it just slides in both directions. Do you forcefully take that out? Or jsut try to insert a small screwdriver so that the top of the box is kept where it is and the bottom just falls out?
__________________
LF: G1/Henkei/SOC/others
For Sale/Trade:Misc TF Sale
Want List: WSTs, SCF PVCs, Henkei, Classics
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 19th October 2011, 07:10 PM
Arcee's Avatar
Arcee Arcee is offline
Rank 1 - New/Inactive
 
Join Date: 20th Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 462
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jazzcomp View Post
I can't remove the box it just slides in both directions. Do you forcefully take that out? Or jsut try to insert a small screwdriver so that the top of the box is kept where it is and the bottom just falls out?
For my MP 01 & 04, I forcefully pulled them out.

But you need to do that with caution; the battery box itself won't be much affected. But you need to be aware of the parts around it: the chest doors, the flip boards above and under it, etc. Make sure there's nothing in the way when you pull it.

And after you've got the batteries out just forcefully push it back in. That small red cap over the rivet is actually quite tough.

The trick is to do it quick in one swift pull/push. (And it doesn't require much strength to do it really, so no need to pull it too hard. As long as the direction is vertical and straight it should be fine.)

With my MP 01, because it was my first experiment, after I've reinstalled the battery box it appeared to be a bit loose, and fell out itself. But there's no damage, and I just put it back again. I worked on my MP 04 more experienced and everything went perfectly, the same issue didn't recur.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 26th October 2011, 11:50 PM
VGMStudios VGMStudios is offline
Rank 5 - Dedicated Member
 
Join Date: 12th Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 974
Default

For figures with batteries I keep that paper/plastic tab in so the electricity doesnt flow. Does that count?
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 27th October 2011, 11:15 AM
UltraMarginal's Avatar
UltraMarginal UltraMarginal is offline
Rank 6 - Deluxe Member
 
Join Date: 23rd Sep 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,692
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VGMStudios View Post
For figures with batteries I keep that paper/plastic tab in so the electricity doesnt flow. Does that count?
It would help, but eventually all batteries leak.
__________________
My Fan interview with Big Trev

my original collection from when I was more impressionable.
My Current Collection Pics (Changing on occasion)
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 27th October 2011, 01:41 PM
griffin's Avatar
griffin griffin is offline
Rank 10 - Admin
 
Join Date: 24th May 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 31,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VGMStudios View Post
For figures with batteries I keep that paper/plastic tab in so the electricity doesnt flow. Does that count?
No. See first post.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 18th January 2013, 05:26 PM
Bidoofdude's Avatar
Bidoofdude Bidoofdude is offline
Rank 6 - Deluxe Member
 
Join Date: 8th Jun 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,836
Default

My Cybertron Megatron had a teeny bit of brown on it and the screws were slightly rusted. Chucked 'em and I don't think I'll put any more in there again.
Time to retire ol' Megs.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 1st February 2013, 09:15 PM
lancalot's Avatar
lancalot lancalot is offline
Rank 6 - Deluxe Member
 
Join Date: 26th Jan 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,203
Default

wow didnt know that at all...lucky i found this thread...taking my MP batteries out now !!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.