Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Casting Process, start to finish (With failures)

Default Casting Process, start to finish (With failures)

Okay, I thought I would chuck a post up following me through the casting process. Luckily for this post I made a LOT of mistakes today through rushing and general mishaps.
    I am only learning the craft and thought this post would help some others that want to give it a go.

Step 1 - Forming the mold frame -

In this step I have used a lego base and bricks to make the frame. You can use anything that will seal and a popular choice is styrene sheeting using a hot glue gun to stick it to a base and pin it down. MDF or ply sheet is another option.

Step 2 - Claying out the negative/adding the parts -

In this step I have used modelers Plasticine (Oil based, non drying clay) to make the bottom (Negative) part of the mold. I am not too happy with the Plasticine I used here. It stuck to the model too much, making it difficult to clean. And also was not the easiest to flatten out.

Next time I may try a coat of mold release and if that fails, a new medium altogether.

Also try to align the part to eliminate any overhangs, being mindful of where your seam lines will be

Step 3 - Adding sprues -

In this step I added the sprues for filling the molds. Normally I would add some alignment pegs or dips, but as I didn't smooth the Plasticine out too much it was already taken care of. I also later increased the size of the pour cavities/sprues to allow more air to escape during pouring.

Step 4 - mixing your silicone -

Here I mixed the Silicone, It's PinkySil brand that can be measured out by either weight or volume to mix. It's 1:1 so really easy. This particular brand also does not require degassing, but more on that later.