Page 1 of 8 123456 ... LastLast

Thread: How do you know it's time to move on from Transformers collecting

Megatran Guest

Default How do you know it's time to move on from Transformers collecting

Like any collecting, people do start and then sometimes lose interest in collecting for whatever reason. As the title goes, How do you know it's time to move on from Transformers collecting (if it ever got to that point)? Or what scenario would steer you in that direction?

Please note I'm not asking to pass judgement.

When it's not fun anymore.... That's when I'll bail

Or financial difficulty... I'd cut off my hands for my wife and son, selling my collection would happen in a heartbeat if I needed money for them.

Let's hope it never comes to that! Lol

Friend of mine lost his job and now he wants to sell a majority of his collection. So yeah I think money would be a big motivator.

Never.

Like many of us here, I've been collecting Transformers continuously since 1984. Never stopped before, don't intend to either. Even if the franchise itself were to perish (knock on wood), my passion for Transformers would live on (as it did during some of the weaker years of Transformers when my collecting significantly slowed down (but never actually stopped), e.g. early to mid 1990s))

My buying has slowed to almost nothing but I still consider myself a collector, it's just that there's little product that interests me these days. I still get immense enjoyment from the collection that I have with no plans to EVER sell it off.

I guess my point here is that there are two kinds of collectors - those that are not actively purchasing and those that are mainly in it for the thrill of the hunt. The later are the ones most likely to sell off what they accumulated because they no longer feel the rush they once did.